National Roads Authority announces national motorway maintenance services for 744km of motorway and dual carriageway

The National Roads Authority has established a national motorway maintenance service programme on 744km of high speed motorway and dual carriageway sections (including junctions and slip roads) in Ireland.

  • A Motorway Service Helpline has been set-up to assist roads users in difficulty on a Motorway. All calls are directed through the Motorway Traffic Control Centre (MTCC) and the number is 0818-715-100 or
  • This national motorway services programme will create over 200 jobs from both service providers and suppliers.
  • There are ten maintenance depots strategically located around the country in Athlone, Balbriggan, Cahir, Cork, Dublin, Ennis, Kilkenny, Kinnegad, Nenagh and Portlaoise.
  • Three of these depots (Ennis, Kinnegad and Balbriggan) also contain storage facilities for 50,000 tonnes of salt which can be efficiently dispersed around the country to augment the supplies held by individual Local Authorities in emergency situations.

The maintenance services will include the following

Undertaking routine inspections and maintenance of the asset, including pavement, drainage, structures, bridges, signage and safety barriers.
Responding to incidents on the network, including emergencies and repairs to damage sections of network.
Provide severe weather response & winter maintenance service.
Collect and manage asset data within the inventory management system.
Undertake improvement, rehabilitation and renewal works.

The country is broken down into three separate regions

  •  The first region is managed by Globalvia Sacyr Jons and it includes the Greater Dublin area which is approximately 160km including parts of the N/M1, N/M2, N/M3, N/M4, N/M7, M9 and N/M11.
  • The second region is managed by Colas Roadbridge and it includes the Midlands/West of the country with approximately 256 km and includes parts of the N/M4, N/M6, M7, N/M18, N19, M20 and N85.
  • The third region is managed by Egis Lagan and it includes the South and South East totals approximately 328 km and includes parts of the M7, M8, M9, N10, N20, N22, N24, N25, N28 and N40.